Week 10– Weekly Activity: Landscapes with a Corpse

IMG_20141102_191718

This week for our project, we were supposed to experiment with the notion of “Landscapes with Corpses.” I wasn’t quite sure what to do at first, and so, I began to brainstorm the many ways a person could die, just to see which would be easier to imitate in a photograph.

At first, I thought I would play around with the idea of being buried alive, and possibly go to the beach over the weekend and figure out how exactly to make that photograph seem realistic. Unfortunately, however, that idea did not go as planned as I had exams to study for and such, and after going home for the weekend, it became clear I would not have the opportunity to go anywhere else. It was possible to like outside of the apartments on the grass or sidewalks and have someone else take the photograph, but I wasn’t quite up to lying on the ground outside.

As it got closer to Sunday night I was running out of ideas until my parents made fun of me for eating so much candy since it was the Halloween weekend. Though it was a bit childish and may not exactly be something that leads to a corpse in the middle of the living room, I eventually decided to take a photograph of “a corpse” surrounded by chocolate wrappers and spilled candy, showing death, I suppose, through an overdose of chocolate.

Leave a Reply

